Desk Re-do

Inspired by one of my favorite blogs Miss Mustard Seed and many of the blogs linked to her site,  I recently embarked on my first crack at chalk paint with an old wood desk found on craigslist. I re-purposed the desk to use in my new craft room.

IMG_0139

I sanded the top of the desk down to the raw wood to remove the old finish. In hindsight, I could have used a Paint & Varnish Stripping Gel as an alternative. But the sander got the job done.

IMG_0141

I used Annie Sloan Chalk paint in Pure White and Duck Egg blue. I mixed the colors to create a subtle ombre effect on the drawers. I used a walnut stain on the top with pure white chalk paint to outline the desk top.

IMG_0144Two coats of stain and two coats of paint later, I lightly distressed the piece and finished the desk with Annie Sloan clear soft wax. Additionally, I spray painted the drawer pulls to rubbed oil bronze so they all match.

P1060787P1060786Now all I need is to find a wooden stool to paint!

What I learned:

  • Chalk paint is expensive but saves so much time because no sanding or varnish stripping is required.
  • Chalk paint clean up is simple because it is water soluble.
  • The white chalk paint does not cover as well the colored paint. I’m not sure if it was just the can I had, but I could never get the white paint to mix properly. I stirred it a lot with a metal spoon but there were still chalk lumps.
  • The clear wax is no joke. Get a good waxing brush and watch online tutorials such as Simple Reinvented.
Leave a Reply

